The Importance of Following Your Treatment Plan

The only way to bipolar stability is a consistent treatment plan.

Scott Ninneman
Speaking Bipolar
Published in
6 min readJul 27, 2022

--

Image created by author with Canva.

When I started one of my current meds, I held out no hope it would help me. My doctor encouraged me to take the first pill right before going to bed. It was good advice, especially considering I had slept about four hours in the week prior.

Still, the last dozen medications we tried had been no more effective for my mental health than popping Pez candy. Her treatment plan instructions fell on deaf ears.

For dinner, I spoiled myself and cooked a juicy steak and baked potato. I sat comfortably in my recliner, flipped on the TV, and put that first pill in my mouth.

The next thing I knew, it was five hours later. My dinner was long cold on the plate in my lap, my left hand still clutching a fork. It took everything I had to drag myself to bed, where I slept for the next twelve hours.

When I woke, I felt rested for the first time in months. It was a small miracle.

It Takes Time

I cautiously took the second pill that night. And then the third. For a solid week, I followed my treatment plan and slept every single night. It was amazing! I felt optimism for the first time in months and thought maybe I…

--

--

Scott Ninneman
Speaking Bipolar

Helping you understand and thrive with bipolar disorder. Editor of the Speaking Bipolar Publication. Let's connect: https://speakingbipolar.com/socialmedia