Bipolar Life

When I Need to Feel Again, I Turn to Music

The songs that never fail to touch my heart.

Scott Ninneman
Speaking Bipolar
Published in
4 min readJan 27, 2023

--

Image created by author with Canva.

Lying on my back on the brown berber carpet, I stare at the wall of candles burning in front of me.

A rounded-top, cast-iron room divider with leafy vines supporting 18 clear-glass votive holders stands over me, just a few inches from my feet. I think about how rarely I light the unscented white tea lights filling each holder and get up and light them all.

My mind marvels at how much light comes from 18 candles, so I turn off the stained-glass floor lamp in the corner.

I’ve been feeling numb.

Days go by, but I feel disconnected from them. I’m in the throes of bipolar blur, and I’m sick of it.

I lie back down on the floor and watch the flames of the candles dance, each one creating shifting shadows around the room. I need to feel, and I know music is the solution.

“One good thing about music, when it hits you, you feel no pain.” — Bob Marley

Music thrives with sad songs

Among my dozens of playlists, I have one dedicated to sad songs I can count on to always reach my heart.

--

--

Scott Ninneman
Speaking Bipolar

Helping you understand and thrive with bipolar disorder. Editor of the Speaking Bipolar Publication. Let's connect: https://speakingbipolar.com/socialmedia