Newsletter 63: I messed up Peter’s eyes, so I gave him heart-shaped shades

Edith Zimmerman
Spiralbound
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readDec 15, 2019

Hello, and welcome to the latest Spiralbound newsletter! We’re officially halfway through December now, and the end of the decade is upon us. It feels like I’m suddenly very deep in winter mode, here in Brooklyn, and like it’s always been winter, too. This time around on the newsletter, we’re catching up on three great stories, one of which is a sort of visual anti-winter balm. See what you think.

Sick, by Ioana Dragnef

“The first few years after the diagnosis were really tough on both me and my family…”

**

Well, I Love That Dirty Water, by Corey Corcoran

“Moments from along the Charles River…”

**

A Hospital Story, by Gayle Kabaker

My husband needed quadruple bypass surgery. While he was in the hospital, I was scared, so I drew.

I drew what I saw, and I took photos to draw from later.

These are the drawings.

**

That’s all for now, but thanks for reading, and we’ll be back this week with more.

In parting, an image of me composing this newsletter:

-Edith Z.

--

--

Edith Zimmerman
Spiralbound

Spiralbound editor. Formerly at The Hairpin. Also now making a newsletter: https://drawinglinks.substack.com