Speed Of Thought Software Development

Sergii Starodubtsev
Starodubtsev Consulting
3 min read3 hours ago

--

Note: you are on the technical branch of the content, if you intended to be on a less technical one (The Locus Esse), here is the link as was described in the Announcement here.

What takes most of the time when you develop software? Say you work on the corp account, you follow the best practices.

I would say the deployment what takes time. (You can call it also provisioning, because when we deploy to cloud (AWS cloud formation CDK, Kubernetes) it is provisioning).

Would be nice to avoid it.

Or rather: would be nice to make it faster. 5 seconds max or better yet 1 second to deploy. Time is money, they say. Now as I write it, i wait for a build already for 13 minutes to be deployed to AWS, looking at the GitHub pipeline.

Would be nice not having any pipeline too. Btw.

I mean, if I am a single person corporation, I would rather skip all this. I would rather check if it works once I changed the code/config.

You say: “Do unit test”?

Yes, but I need to test if my s3 bucket is replicates data when I write to it, if my app have permission to do it. I need to test real life, I would rather avoid creating virtual realities, I would rather keep end-to-end test after I got the result. Yes after. My primary goal is to keep my motivation, to be as close as possible to the domain problem. Lots of boil plate steps could be avoided IF you are a single person corporation.

--

--

Sergii Starodubtsev
Starodubtsev Consulting

I am a Software Consultant. I also write stories. Some blogging. My mind set to people, culture, philosophy. I read, write, share.