Gotta buy ’em all

Steve 'vudu' Tauber
Frontiers
Published in
2 min readSep 13, 2017

--

I’m a huge fan of the Seattle Sounders. They play soccer/football. Maybe you’ve heard of them? As a dutiful fan and an American, I show my love by buying stuff. Scarves, hats, jerseys, pins, the more the better. I was pretty excited to hear that Adidas would be releasing a special Sounders FC branded shoe.

But I didn’t buy them.

h/t Snapstyle (ebay)

Now, you might be thinking these shoes are ugly. And they are. But that’s not why I didn’t buy them.

On the tongue of the shoe, it says “SFC”, short for Sounders FC. The problem is most fans refer to the club as “SSFC”, Seattle Sounders FC.

So why the discrepancy? The club uses SFC for the most part, not the fans.

Talk to the consumer!

Had Adidas or the Sounders interviewed their fans, they would have found out that the majority use SSFC as the abbreviation. I bet they would have sold a lot more shoes. So the lesson is: interview the actual consumer. Maybe there are assumptions you’ve made that weren’t even on your radar.

Please explore my other stories here. If you’ve liked this, please hit the 👏 or follow. Thanks!

--

--