How to Get Your First 10,016 Views on Medium

Mike Fishbein
Startup Grind
Published in
8 min readAug 30, 2016

--

7 LESSONS LEARNED

Just one month ago, I wrote a story about how I broke 5,000 views on Medium. That was 2x the previous month. Now, I’ve doubled once again and broken 10,000 this month. Here’s what I’ve learned in the process.

I first started writing on Medium because, like most writers and marketers, I wanted to reach my target audience. To do so, I went where my readers already were — and there are many on Medium.

In addition, I didn’t want to be dependent on any one channel. While I’ve grown my blog to over 5k visitors per month from organic search, and helped grow other sites to even higher numbers through combinations of SEO, social and guest blogging, The Internet (and the people that use it) is always changing.

Meanwhile, Medium continues to grow it’s user base and doesn’t have as much competition for many topics as compared to channels like Google or YouTube. That brings me to my first lesson learned gaining over 10,016 views on Medium this month.

1. Determine if Medium is right for you.

--

--