How to Get Your Medium Stories to Rank on The Front Page of Google

Mike Fishbein
Startup Grind
Published in
9 min readJun 20, 2017

--

I first turned to Medium because of it’s sleek design and access to its vast network of readers. That network of readers continues to grow.

In December 2016, Medium reported that it has 60 million monthly unique visitors, which was a 140% increase from the year before. That’s more than a few million more readers than I have on my own website, so the benefit of publishing on Medium is clear.

When I first started publishing on Medium, almost three years ago, most of my stories barely broke 100 views. Since then, I’ve published 81 stories, gained 6,600 followers and at one point I’ve had over 20,000 views per month.

While I’ve certainly reaped the benefits of Medium’s network of readers, I had not considered the potential for an additional benefit: attracting readers from search engines like Google.

When I analyzed Medium.com, I was enthused to see that it’s pages were ranking for over 2.5 million keywords. According to Semrush.com, Medium receives approximately 2 million visitors from search per month.

Here’s a selection of Medium stories that are…

--

--