Photo by Lum3n from Pexels

Review of Adlers Writing

Review, History, Highlights and Some Plans

Stevie Adler
Published in
3 min readMay 7, 2020

--

Adlers Writing history, some highlights and some plans.

History

In November 2017 I, Stevie Adler, followed some writers onto Medium as it seemed the fastest and easiest way to get published. I’d only been writing a few months.

I was unimpressed that there was no way to separate the two types of writing I was trying out, blogs and fiction. They were all mixed in together, listed in date order. I created my own personal publication. The name decided upon was to be descriptive of everything I was to write about so after all of ten minutes of deliberation I plumped for

Stevie Adler Teach and Blog

Big mistake! What a stupid name! If ever you create a publication take your time over it’s name and make it as general as possible. Some interesting names of personal publications recently discovered are Blue Fire, Wonder Woods and Story Well. Luckily the text is just Adlers Writing.

Early in 2018 I was writing Fiction, Blog Posts and Opinion Pieces. In one of these opinion pieces (Raise the Profile of Microfiction on Medium) I’d worked myself up so much about the virtues of Microfiction that I decided I should showcase microfiction from invited writers. That started at the end of January 2018.

Microfiction

Microfiction on Medium is a success story. Number of stories have increased from 377(Jan 2018) → 2.8k(May 2020). Most publications now publish a lot more Microfiction than Adlers Writing. Of note is The Friday Fix (50-words only). From time to time we are still able to add an exceptional microfiction.

Bugs

Every so often I jump onto my soap-box and bring to everyone’s attention a Medium bug (see menu, but these are now fixed!). I plan on defining and writing up a couple of annoying bugs soon.

Blog

Occasionally I blog about things of interest when there is something to say.

Medium Tips

I maintain a single doc. of all the ”how to do stuff” at Medium: Help List, more for my benefit because I have a terrible memory.

Listicles include:

Ten Things

If you have a Ten Things you Didn’t Know About Me story, perhaps it’s time to get a few more reads and recycle it here? Ask to be made a writer at Adlers Writing via the comments below and I will do a bit of magic so you can then add it to publication.

If you don’t have a Ten Things you Didn’t Know About Me story, perhaps it’s time to write one? I challenge you! We are all a little bit nosy and like to find out about the person behind the fiction writing. We take drafts or previously published Ten Things.(only accepting Ten Things at the moment).

Summary

Hopefully we will get a few more Ten Things stories to read. We are constantly adding to and updating all listicles. They are also fully revised once or twice a year. The Medium: Fiction Publications list was fully revised on May 9th.

More of the same. See you around.

--

--

Stevie Adler
Adlers Writing

Writer of Microfiction/Flash Fiction. Teller of Tales. Editor. Creator of Informative Articles and Opinionated Blogs.