Computational Approaches to Strategy Supplement: Theory, Methodology, and Applications 1.0

Adam Elkus
Strategies of the Artificial
1 min readNov 15, 2015

This document (read/download here) is a précis and synthesis of two prior documents I have written, Computational Approaches to Strategy and its supplement defining my personal research ideas.

The former document defines abstractly how theories and questions in strategy relate to computational methods in the social, behavioral, and computational sciences, the latter explains my particular research interests and the possible application of those methods to them. This document is a concise (both of its parent documents are 20+ pages) combination of the two.

I explain what strategic theory is, what the key questions are, and how computational methods can help. I do so while also showing how my own specific research interests and proposed methods are a subset of larger possible questions in strategy and computational methods. I acknowledge significant limitations and briefly sketch out how my research might address them. After that, I briefly summarize the document and further work to be done.

This document, as a synthesis of the two documents, will be refined progressively over time, hence there is a 1.0 version number attached to it. Citations, grammar, sentence structure, etc are left unpolished so that the idea can be gotten out as expeditiously as possible. The document is vague about the operationalizations, but I finally feel better about the language used to describe the abstract ideas (a problem with earlier drafts of research conceptualizations).

--

--

Adam Elkus
Strategies of the Artificial

PhD student in Computational Social Science. Fellow at New America Foundation (all content my own). Strategy, simulation, agents. Aspiring cyborg scientist.