“If I were the CEO”

AC de Fombelle
StreetLib
Published in
2 min readDec 18, 2017
Photo by Ichio on Unsplash

Almost every year, our very spread-out tribe is travelling to our original headquarters to gather for a day. This year is no different and, for the second consecutive year, our master and commander — Antonio Tombolini — has asked us a question in advance, that will be the whole theme of the day. You may remember last year, I asked your opinion on the matter at hand, which was “what will be books in 15 years?”.
Some may call that cheating as I definitely got great inputs from my newsletter pen pals, but this won’t prevent me from repeating the experience this year :)

Our innovative and fresh CEO asked us to rise to a pretty high challenge. This year’s tribe meeting is indeed called “If I were the CEO”. The question is simple (but, really, not simple at all): “what would you do if you were CEO? What are StreetLib’s priorities in your opinion?”

Well, I can begin with my answer by saying: if I were CEO I’d go even further in consulting our users and online communities to find out what they need out of StreetLib. And, I’ll actually start doing just so by forwarding the question to you:

What would you do if you were StreetLib’s CEO?

Of course, it’s a bit harder for you as you don’t know all the ins and outs. You don’t quite know what’s already in the pipelines or what is the situation of our different developments. However, you have the best seat in the house to decide what the show should be about: you’re the public. You know what you’d like to see on stage better than anyone else.

You probably read here and there that StreetLib is rooted in Hip Hop culture. What it means is we want to keep surrounding ourselves and working with the people who need us: the authors, the publishers, the readers, the book fanatics, the poets….

Are you falling in that description? So, what do you think: tell me, what would you do if you were the CEO of StreetLib? What do you think is the most important thing to improve, spread or create when you are StreetLib, the swiss-knife of online publishing? Imagine you are running a business you are very passionate about for ten years, you are still as passionate and still truly believe it can be a great publishing solution for a lot of people out there: what do you do? How do you become that solution for all these people (namely, you)?

I’ll welcome all your answers and exchanges on the topic. You truly are all a voice we want to hear. Just make sure to answer before this Thursday as it’ll be when I have to present my “If I were the CEO” ideas to the whole team…. ;)

--

--