Adapt the Situation and Be Positive

Xuewei Wang
Stress Management In Workplace
2 min readMar 5, 2018

I have discussed how to actively reduce the stress level or eliminate the stressor in the previous blog posts. Today, I want to talk about how to adjust yourself to fit the situation and how to be positive while you are facing a tough situation. By this I mean, you can change your mind to reduce the stress. Most of time, much of the stress is applied by yourself.

How do you stress yourself out?

  1. You increase the takes that are unnecessary to do. Or you increase the level of difficulty of a task to reach the perfect outcome.
  2. You take too much responsibility that you could delegate to other group members.
  3. You expect too much of yourself.

Solutions

There is no better way to manage your stress by adapting the situation and controlling your feeling by yourself. You should understand your limitation and try to utilize your emotional intelligence to control your negative feelings in order to reduce the stress.

There is one advice that I find useful in develop stress management in Wenxin Yu’s blog post “Emotional Intelligence describes a person”. She has claimed that “By identifying your own emotions and reactions, you become more mindful and can start to build control”. According to her blog, this technique calls “Reflect your emotion”.(Yu, 2018) This method requires you to figure out the negative feelings first and try to control your emotion. Applying to stress management, we can try to find the stressor first and try to manage the stress by adapting to the situation and trying to be positive. You can simply reduce the stress by lower your criteria of work and think positive towards the big picture.

In the end

I want to simply summarize the effective technique that I think useful in the stress management. The techniques that are best to reduce stress that Pomodoro Technique, Hatha Yoga, and Seeking Help From Others. I think that I am more confident of handling the stress in my study life. And I felt that I have made a significant progress in stress management during this period of research and experiment experience. I really hope that my experiences will help you go through the stress issues you encountered in the workplace.

Yu, W. (2018). Emotional Intelligence describes a person. Skill hacking. Retrieved from https://medium.com/skill-hacking/emotional-intelligence-describes-a-person-216f83d21868

--

--