How I wrote this blog post

Peter Yin
Student Voices
Published in
3 min readJun 10, 2017

For those of you want to write and share more, but don’t know where to start.

Several people have asked me what the process is for writing this blog. Here are the steps I take to write each post. They are by no means a prescription, as every person will have different optimal systems. I share this in the hopes that even just one idea from the post can help you get started.

Commit

This is the hardest step. In the end, you choose what is important to you and how you spend your time. If writing is a priority, then commit to it, and use accountability to help you. Post on social media or use a paid service like 750 words. Tell your friends that you are starting a blog. Throw down a writing challenge and commit to donating to your anti-charity if you fail. Once you get past this step, you’ve already overcome the biggest hurdle.

The idea

Before I started this blog, I didn’t think I had much to write about. Now, I realize that when writing is a necessity and no longer an option, ideas will start to come. One good starting point is to see what are you excited to talk to your friends about. Write about your hobbies, your job, or your side projects. It gets easier. I found that after a few posts, I began thinking about topics unconsciously throughout the day.

Pre-write

This step is crucial for me. Initially, I tried to crank out a first draft from scratch and then use a second pass to revise and edit. I’ve heard this strategy work for some people, but I struggled with it. I found myself getting overwhelmed and stuck. Instead, I started writing brief outlines with notes on ideas and phrases I’d like to incorporate and general structure of the story. Knowing the trajectory and finish line of your story made writing much easier.

My semi-coherent outline for this blog. So meta…

Write

This is where the magic happens. I use the outline to start writing full sentences from the half-formed thoughts. While this is easier with the full arc of the story in place, I still often rewrite sentences several times before I’m happy with how it sounds. The previous sentence alone went through 5 iterations. The transfer function between my mind and what goes on paper takes a few tries to get right.

Edit

I aim for simplicity and clarity. When I scan my first draft I look for sentences and words that are overly complicated and make them easier to read. The Hemingway app is a great tool to visualize these patterns in your writing. When I move towards >1 day timelines to write these blog posts, I plan to send drafts to friends and family to review. One trade off of posting daily is less time to get feedback.

Share

Publish to Facebook. Publish to Reddit. Publish to Hacker News. Share your message with the community. You may be surprised by how people will respond to your story.

--

--