Image by ruhbastard from Pixabay

How Eating The Same Thing Every Day, Helps You Lose Weight

Can you eat the same thing day after day, week after week?

Sugar-Free-Zone
Published in
8 min readJun 7, 2019

--

When I was a kid, I resisted breakfast. I simply didn’t want to eat it, and in fact I didn’t want to eat lunch either. Often (when I could get away with it) the first food I ate in a day was when I got home from school at between 3 and 4 PM. I would eat the sandwich, raw veggies, apple and cookie I was supposed to have eaten for lunch! Forty years later I discovered that I was “naturally,” following what today is called Intermittent Fasting.

I was lucky to be able to do this. Both my mother and father worked. My mother left for work at about 6:30 AM which was when I was rousted out of bed. My father pretty well never paid attention to us kids … so if he asked if I’d had my breakfast, I would smile, say nothing, and that would be that.

The weekends were a problem. When my Mom insisted, I would always eat the same thing. A slice of toast topped with a healthy layer of peanut butter and some of my grandmother’s home made jam or jelly. It was pretty well the ONLY breakfast food I could force down my throat.

I noticed my parents both had the exact same breakfast, day after day, month after month, year after year. It never varied. I never even thought to question it because I…

--

--

Melanie Rockett
Sugar-Free-Zone

Over 40 years Freelance Writing — pretty well everything! | Writing | Book Promotions | Marketing | melanierockett.com