README.md

I’m a User Research team builder and advocate. Here’s what I’d like you to know about me. 🚀

Brooke Kao
Suitcase Words
1 min readOct 23, 2017

--

I’ve spent 10+ years leading research and design at from early to mid stage startups to agencies to enterprises, typically as a “team of one” or two.

Take away these 3 things:

  1. I conducted my first research study in 2014, and since then, I’ve been hooked. I’ve evangelized for and built the research team at Olo and Tuft & Needle. My approach to leadership is yin and yang; striking the right balance between observing, letting it flow and pushing things forward.
  2. I’m lucky to have gained skills in a breadth of areas: product strategy, UX, graphic and visual design, front end production code. Because of that, I can slide from broad, abstract and vision focus to concrete and implementation focus easily.
  3. I’m not just an advocate for the user, but especially for marginalized identities. Research, wielded correctly, can help us imagine a better world. I have no interest in organizations that put profits over people.

Here are the goods:

This publication demonstrates how I approach research and design and what I’ve done. For an overview of my work, check out my research projects. For insight into my process and mindset, check out my musings.

Catch me on: My Medium account for writings about tech and fashion in other publications, LinkedIn for job history, Dribbble for Daily UI forays and Instagram for general stalking.

--

--

Brooke Kao
Suitcase Words

NYC based Researcher and Strategist // @brookekao