3 Alternative Ways To Sidestep Anxiety

When the status quo doesn’t work…

Brian Pennie, PhD
The Startup
Published in
5 min readDec 1, 2018

--

I’ve read far and wide on tactics to overcome anxiety. This includes books, blogs, and my own PhD research. Many good strategies exist, especially exercise, CBT, and mindfulness, but anxiety is on the rise, and I often wonder what we’re missing.

I personally spent 15 years running away from anxiety. But my life is very different today. I am mentally strong and I couldn’t be more content. When I think about what has changed, three things come to mind. I monitor my language and self-talk. External events no longer control me. And I say no to almost everything.

Below are three ways I have developed this mindset. They are part of a program I developed in my recovery from 15 years of chronic heroin addiction. You can access the free program by clicking here.

1. Track your language and self-talk

“The words you speak become the house you live in.” — Hafiz

Research shows that language is a vehicle for emotion. As a result, how you think, and the language that you use determines how you feel. It is therefore essential to observe what you say, especially what you say to yourself.

--

--

Brian Pennie, PhD
The Startup

Change is possible. I write to show that | Recovered heroin addict turned doctor. www.brianpennie.com