Photo by NESA by Makers on Unsplash

Applying software engineering principles to your business

Practical tips to engineer business success

Bruce Flow
Published in
9 min readNov 21, 2018

--

I work as a software developer. I revel in the whole process of geeking out with ideas, continuously learning technology and creating innovative solutions for people. I have to admit that on some days I feel like banging my head against the wall. Most of the time though, it feels like I am getting paid to have fun.

I am also a compulsive side-hustler, for various reasons. Mainly, because I can do whatever the hell I want and I get to see my ideas play out in the real world. I’m avoiding the word “entrepreneur” intentionally because it has been milked to death.

In software development, there are a bunch of common principles that are applied throughout the industry. I have come to notice that some of these principles can be transferred to running businesses. Employing them to my side-hustles has helped me gain clarity, simplification, and efficiency.

YAGNI (You ain’t gonna need it)

When we code software, it makes sense to look ahead into the future. We do this to anticipate problems and to make sure that our current tasks are in line with the bigger picture.

--

--

Bruce Flow
The Startup

Polymath by calling. Software developer by profession. Student of the mind by nature.