Every UX book I recommend and why

A resource for the study of humans and design

H Locke
14 min readApr 9, 2020
An image of a pile of UX books. Source: medium/@h_locke

As part of mentoring the wonderful young hopefuls of our industry, I am often asked “what books do you recommend about <insert UX-related subject>”.

I’m always happy to help, though I’m also amazed that people still read books, as I thought the average attention span these days was oh look Tiktok.

I’ve ended up collating a very long list, all of which I own and recommend to people constantly. It sits in an email that I have to keep digging out. So this post is entirely selfish and its purpose is to make my digital mentoring life easier.

Here’s everything I recommend and why

These are the best books for learning the craft that I’ve encountered over the last 15 years. I’ll be adding to them over time as I discover new and noteworthy publications.

A woman with a book over her face

The usability bibles

These are the basic texts which are either well known, have been around for a long time or are historically significant in the formation of our craft.

--

--

H Locke

UX person. I design things and I study humans. 150+ articles on Medium — https://medium.com/@h_locke/lists