The Science Behind Self-Talk And Emotion

How To Change Your Relationship With Anxiety

Brian Pennie, PhD
The Startup
Published in
6 min readMar 12, 2019

--

“The words you speak become the house you live in.” — Hafiz

My obsession with language grew out of the realization that self-talk and anxiety drove me towards a life of chronic addiction. Tormented by the voices in my head, I was completely unaware of how they nourished my anxiety.

Through nothing short of a miracle, I broke free from addiction, where the source of my suffering has since turned into a PhD on the relationship between language, emotion, and mindfulness.

The science of language and anxiety

Prior to getting clean, anxiety consumed my entire life. This resulted in a tightening around my chest, which developed into a morbid fear of my own heartbeat. A difficult thing to escape for sure.

With the help of meditation, I’m over five years clean, but even today, I get slightly agitated when I hear the word ‘heart’. It’s only a word, but it has an impact.

My own experiences might seem a little extreme, but have you ever woken up in the dead of the night, and felt completely overwhelmed by your own mind. Thoughts racing. Self-talk only making things worse.

--

--

Brian Pennie, PhD
The Startup

Change is possible. I write to show that | Recovered heroin addict turned doctor. www.brianpennie.com