How to Set Better Goals

Answer These 5 Questions If You Want Real Progress

Zach Arend
The Startup
Published in
5 min readFeb 8, 2019

--

For many of us, there is a gap between what we desire and where we are today.

That’s why we have goals to run toward and we know the best goals are S.M.A.R.T Goals.

Many smart people say that for a goal to be “smart”, it must be specific, measurable, attainable, realistic, and time-bound.

Any goal is better than no goal at all, and a smart goal is better than a hope goal.

Smart goals alone, however, will leave us feeling empty if we don’t answer these five additional questions.

My Goals Might Be Measurable, But Are They Meaningful?

Most goals take effort and sacrifice to achieve. For some, this can become a burden, and for others, a reason to get out of bed at 4 am full of energy, excitement, and anticipation.

I’ve experienced both. And I’d much rather find myself getting up at 4 am because I can’t wait to start.

If you find yourself in the first category then your goals might be measurable, but likely are not meaningful.

For my goals to be meaningful I have to see how it serves my values and how it is going to get me closer to my life’s vision.

It sounds selfish at first (and maybe it is), but I know this is where I will have the most impact on my life and with others.

So, how much time have you spent thinking about what a specific goal means for you, your values, and vision?

If I Continue Doing What I’ve Always Done, Do I See Myself Making Progress Toward My Goal?

This question is a tough one for me. Now its one I ask often, knowing that I’ve chosen to ignore it in the past.

Rather than facing reality, I’ve ground it out much longer than was helpful.

“People occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing ever happened.” — Winston Churchill

How often, do you pause to ask yourself this question. If you keep doing what you are doing, do you see yourself making progress?

It’s ok if the answer is no.

If it is, then pick one thing about the action you are taking and change it. Go get feedback from others, listen to your gut, and change what needs changing.

How Much Time Have I Spent Thinking About the Steps to Achieving My Goal?

This has been a life-changing question for me. I’m known for working hard, head down, staying disciplined, and just doing the work.

I’m not saying this is good or bad, but when this is all I’m doing, I miss the opportunity to change, grow, and think bigger.

About a year ago, I started setting aside my mornings to write, journal, and just think. I spent time reflecting on who I am and what I desire (my values and vision).

This time in the morning has created so much clarity in my life and what I’m doing.

When’s the last time you asked yourself where you want to be in life 10 years from now? How much time would you desire to have with your kids, what about your health, and your relationships?

Photo by Zoe Holling on Unsplash

What Areas of My Life Do I Feel I Might Be Under-Investing in, that Really Matter to Me?

I heard Greg McKeown, author of Essentialism ask Tim Ferris this question on Tim’s podcast. I found it extremely helpful.

When meditating on this question, it’s interesting to notice what shows up for you.

For me, I noticed that I’m under-investing in some dreams that for the longest time I’ve told myself I’m not qualified for.

I desire to work more one on one with people helping them to overcome their obstacles so they can create what they desire in life.

This goal of mine aligns directly with my values and I’ve been letting fear, busyness, and other B.S. excuses keep me from investing here.

In what meaningful areas of your own life might you be under-investing in?

What’s the real challenge for you preventing you from making the investment?

What’s My Next Step Toward Accomplishing My Goal?

This is my favorite question, as it gets right down to the action I’ll take next.

Real progress in life is consistently taking meaningful next steps toward creating what you desire — the smaller and more frequent the steps the better off you’ll be.

“Keep goals creative and human…keep goals close to you and achievable.” — Mark Freeman, You Are Not A Rock

When we make it a practice of taking small next steps, it creates a series of small victories, that leads to momentum, and momentum creates progress.

Conclusion

For so long, I made life about career goals, income, and status. Again, not saying these are good or bad. But for me, these goals were squeezing life into a smaller vision of what’s possible.

As I made it a practice to pause more often to ask these questions, I saw there was so much more in my life to experience and invest in — areas that are meaningful, that serve my values, and move me closer to my life’s vision.

I often still stumble and fall into the ego traps I just mentioned. But by building in practices throughout my day reflecting on questions like these, I’m able to get myself back on track and moving forward.

That’s all we can do right? Take meaningful action that gets us back on track toward our goals and stay the course.

Which question do you need to ask the most right now in your own life?

  • How are my goals meaningful to me?
  • If I keep doing what I’m doing, will it accomplish what I desire?
  • What could be the most impactful steps for me to take?
  • What meaningful areas in my life am I under-investing in right now?
  • What’s my next step?

DOWNLOAD MY FREE EXECUTIVE MORNING PLAN!

Click here and download The Executive Morning Plan: Fuel your performance by taking control of your morning (without Inbox Zero and More Task Lists)!

This story is published in The Startup, Medium’s largest entrepreneurship publication followed by +421,678 people.

Subscribe to receive our top stories here.

--

--

Zach Arend
The Startup

I write for growth-minded people who are hungry to pursue their potential — https://linktr.ee/zach.arend