I Switched A Viral Free Article To Member Only, Here’s What Happened

How readers fluctuated, how much it earned and more.

Sah Kilic
The Startup

--

Photo by rawpixel on Unsplash

Recently one of my old but popular articles had a resurgence of traffic. I was getting more views/reads/claps the whole lot. I clicked on the stats page and had a glance at when it started.

Resurgence Beginning December 6th

Most new hits had come in from internal referrals. Medium curators had distributed my article in Productivity and Self (which I was very appreciative of). Meaning, my article was now showing up in the Medium digest, the app, and other places.

Being the curious guy I am, I had a lot of questions. Skipping over all the boring ones, let’s focus on ones related to the Medium Partner Program.

I wanted to know what would happen if I switched a currently ‘trending’ article to paid.

When I had written the article, it immediately became quite popular. I had published it to The Startup but back then, and someone can correct me here if I’m wrong, you couldn’t publish paid articles to publications. But this had changed since.

--

--

Sah Kilic
The Startup

I talk so much I figured I should write some of it down. Join me here: http://sah.substack.com 💪