I Went Viral on LinkedIn With 4.79 Million Views

300 likes a minute, 1000 followers a day, but the numbers promise nothing.

Niharikaa Kaur Sodhi
The Startup

--

Image by the author

I started writing on LinkedIn when the pandemic hit in March 2020. I wasn’t regular, but I’d hit the publish button once in a while. Plus, I was the junior-most in my team at work, so I was too scared of what people will think of my opinions.

I had 250ish followers. And on July 02, I had my first viral LinkedIn post — 1 million views in under 72 hours.

The second time I went viral, I didn’t want to hit publish.

My LinkedIn audience are fairly locals from my country where our mindset and culture is rather conservative. My audience on platforms like Twitter and Medium is more global and gives me more freedom to express myself.

I was too scared of being called a clickbait, of putting up my picture on a professional platform or telling my story.

My mentor encouraged me to hit publish. Here’s an excerpt from our conversation:

Me: I can’t.

Mentor: You don’t write for yourself, you write for people. You have to serve them.

Me: But this makes me so uncomfortable

Mentor: Sometimes you need to make decisions that make you…

--

--