Invest Your Time Before You Invest Your Money

According to the Gumroad Founder

Tim Denning
The Startup
Published in
4 min readApr 13, 2021

--

Photo by Zoltan Tasi on Unsplash

I went down the Gumroad.

While preparing to build my second course focused on LinkedIn, I bought a course from another creator named Justin Welsh as part of my extended research. Justin uses Gumroad to promote and sell his course, which I’d never heard of. What’s interesting about Gumroad is its quirky founder, Sahil.

Sahil broke social media when he said, “Invest your time before you invest your money.”

It’s a different way to look at earning money online. Rather than going out and buying a bunch of digital products to get you all hyped up, he suggests the following:

Start running before you buy running shoes. Build something before you buy the domain. Learn via YouTube before paying for a course.

I agree with Sahil. Too often we get excited about an idea, and then run off and blow a whole bunch of money.

When you invest your time you have enormous leverage on yourself. Wasting time feels a lot worse than wasting a replenishable resource like money. You can’t get time back or relive your 20s and 30s, but you can always get another job or find another way to make back money.

--

--

Tim Denning
The Startup

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb