By Christin Hume on Unsplash

Mental constructs from your 9-to-5 job that are bad for self-employment

Change them to be great at your own business

Bruce Flow
Published in
8 min readOct 18, 2018

--

If you are highly successful in your corporate career, it does not mean you necessarily have what it takes to be self-employed. Typical examples of self-employment include freelancing or running your own business. I would like to avoid the term “entrepreneurship” because it is such an overused word.

I work as a full-time software developer at a large tech company. I am very fond of my job. For various reasons, I constantly run side hustles to complement my career.

One of my side hustles was an indie mobile game development company I co-founded with a friend. The company failed miserably and is now defunct. It is one of my favorite failures.

I am grateful for the whole learning experience. In particular, I learned that there are characteristics that are helpful both on the career path and in self-employment. Characteristics like diligence or good time management skills.

On the other hand, there are certain characteristics that are okay to have as an employee but are extremely detrimental in a self-employment situation.

The need for a stable income with a linear increments

--

--

Bruce Flow
The Startup

Polymath by calling. Software developer by profession. Student of the mind by nature.