Our Investment Money Evaporate when Elon Musk and Twitter Plays the Blame Game Bomb Drop

The consultant in me started thinking about my financial future. And maybe… there are better ways to grow my money.

Aldric Chen
The Startup

--

A lady lady covering her eyes, shivering, with her laptop in front of her.
Image by ijmaki from Pixabay

Do you believe in passive investing? I know I do. Jack Bogle and Warren Buffett are my role models when it comes to money.

However, I grew increasingly uncomfortable with passive money management in recent years. The recent Twitter spat with Elon Musk is one example. These are my thoughts.

  • Individual investors no longer care about the company’s revenue and growth strategy
  • Many investors celebrate when Twitter decided to take Elon Musk to court
  • Before that, investors cheer when Elon decides to take Twitter private

No one spoke about intrinsic value, price-to-book ratios, and Twitter’s advertisement revenue relative to the other social media titans. Not even CNBC and Bloomberg.

At this juncture, I must declare the following information.

I am an avid user of Twitter. And I have Twitter shares in my investment portfolio.

And I am naturally unhappy when the stock price sank from Elon’s $54.20 offer price to…

--

--

Aldric Chen
The Startup

24x Top Writer (as of June 2023). Serial eavesdropper. I capture interesting & uncomfortable real-life retirement / work-life stories the way they are.