The Best Book on Money I’ve Ever Read

And the actionable lessons you can get from it.

Tim Denning
The Startup
Published in
6 min readApr 11, 2022

--

Photo by Loe Moshkovska from Pexels

Finance books suck.

They’re hard to read, full of jargon, and the author tries to sound smart. Get-rich-quick gurus write too many. So I don’t recommend most books on money.

The Psychology of Money” book changed my mind. It’s a must-read.

Here’s what you can learn from it.

The biggest lesson from The Psychology of Money

Happiness = Controlling your time

The book beat this lesson into my thick skull.

I’ve always wondered why when I got more money working a job it didn’t make me happy. Then it hit me. I don’t want money. I want time to read and write. I don’t want a dumb boss to tell me what to do.

My happiness levels went up as soon as I broke free from working a job. Control of your time acts as a dividend on your energy that keeps compounding. If control of your time were a currency then it’d be worth more than one Bitcoin.

“Use money to gain control over your time.”

How?

  1. Invest your money to make more money.
  2. Look for passive income

--

--

Tim Denning
The Startup

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb