Why Do Some Books Win Awards (and Yours Doesn’t)?

Sandra Wendel
The Startup
Published in
7 min readOct 10, 2023

--

Award-Winning Secrets from a Book Award Judge

© Write On, Inc., image by Addasta

Will your book win an award? Or even acclaim from its readers?

As an author, yes, you can create an award-winning, highly acclaimed book by avoiding the usual amateur mistakes and paying attention to fine book writing and production.

I wrote about my Confessions of a Book Award Judge last year and the year before. Well, guess what? It’s book award judging season again, and I’m looking at stacks of entries in various genres (all nonfiction) for four major awards.

[Note: I am bound by confidentiality. I cannot reveal the contests I judge for. They are big ones. You’d be impressed. I cannot give you actual examples from books being judged right now out of confidentiality and respect for the authors’ privacy.]

I applaud each one of you entrants. I cherish your effort. I respect your bravery for entering award contests, and I promise, as I judge, to honor your words.

I also see your flaws.

What sets the winners apart, even before I crack open the books?

Judging a book by its cover tells me a lot about the care the author took in producing the book. A professional cover…

--

--

Sandra Wendel
The Startup

A picky nonfiction editor who helps authors write, polish, and publish their books. Author: Cover to Cover: What First-Time Authors Need to Know about Editing.