Systems thinking is becoming sexy. Should we be worried?

Houda Boulahbel
Systems Thinking Made Simple
6 min readMay 15, 2024

--

Systems thinking is sexy right now!

I never thought I’d put these words together in a sentence, but systems thinking seems to be growing in popularity. Countless organisations are teaching and/or applying the theories, philosophies and methodologies underlying the systems thinking meta-discipline.

If you’ve read any of my articles, you’ll know that I am a great believer in the potential of systems thinking to help unlock some of the biggest challenges of the modern world. You might remember me saying (over and over again) that the world needs more systems thinkers.

So while I welcome this surge in popularity with open arms, I cannot help but feel some slight unease.

It feels like I’ve been here before.

Déjà vu?

Let me take you back to the 2010s. Back then, design thinking was the sexy shiny methodology that came with so much promise. It wasn’t new, many of its principles had existed for decades, but it was gaining popularity fast: government agencies, healthcare organisations, city councils, and big tech companies were hiring design agencies to solve challenges ranging from business design to banking, to transportation and patient care.

--

--

Houda Boulahbel
Systems Thinking Made Simple

Systems thinking consultant and educator. Ex-cancer research scientist. Curious about the world. Check out my website: www.ifsi.uk