Photo by Willian Justen de Vasconcellos on Unsplash

Sun Warriors 4: Love conquers all

“Live happily ever after.”

Asmi
Published in
5 min readOct 25, 2023

--

On a beautiful morning, Kinaaz walked around the city collecting the antiques in the market. She bought a lovely traditional Purushpura dress, leather footwear and unique silver ornaments.

Altan was amazed to see Kinaaz in red traditional attire, she covered her face with a black veil and braided her free hair to simulate the look. She adorned herself with head ornaments.

Kinaaz raised her eyebrows and speaking in a local tone asked, “Can you identify me?”

Altan grabbed her hand and removed the black veil by saying, “Let me see the stubborn girl who is standing in my way.”

Altan softly touched her pink lips and said, “I know this bold girl is my love Kinaaz.”

Kinaaz smiled and kissed his hand.

Both roamed around holding each other’s hands. Kinaaz was mesmerised by the shine of semi-precious stones.

She rushed to the shop and enquired, “What are these different coloured stones?”

Trader explained, “These various stones should be worn according to the zodiac signs.”

Kinaaz questioned, “Which is the stone for the sign of Aquarius?”

Photo by Judith Zimmermann on Unsplash

He gave Kinaaz a lapis lazuli deep blue stone and said, “The Jewel of the sky, signifies truth, wisdom, and intellect.”

Altan called Kinaaz saying, “Done with shopping? Let’s go, we need to see the entire city.”

Kinaaz took the stone and replied, “Yes give me a minute.”

After walking for a few minutes they reached the outskirts of the market. Altan stopped and said, “This is my home.”

Kinaaz could see a pleased expression on his face. She could understand how it felt to visit his motherland and home. She smiled looking into his eyes.

Kinaaz, gripping his hand firmly said, “Then let’s meet your family!!”

fancy brick built building with turrets and porticos
Photo by aisvri on Unsplash

Both walked through a green but wild garden and stepped inside a giant, but silent house. Kinaaz nudged him and said, “You have a pretty big house, I didn’t know you were so wealthy, I thought you were from a humble family.”

Altan said with a smile, “It is too late now, you can’t leave me for this petty reason.”

Kinaaz pushed him saying, “Of course, now I am madly in love with you.”

Noticing Altan was stunned, Kinaaz glanced at the entrance where she saw a middle-aged woman stood. She rushed towards them and cried, “Altan!”

Altan hugged the woman saying, “Mother! I missed you.”

Altan’s eyes were filled with tears when he said, “Mother forgive me, I’m your unfilial son, I didn’t dare to face you.”

Mother replied, “I have been waiting for you for four years, Grandfather told us about your achievement.”

Altan said, “Father will never forgive me.”

Mother wiped Altan’s tears and said, “At least meet him, come inside.”

Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

Mother looked at Kinaaz, Altan held Kinaaz’s shoulder and announced, “Mother, she is Kinaaz, the woman in my life whom I love and respect.”

When Altan met his father’s eyes, he knew the old missteps were forgiven. Altan didn’t hesitate to hug him.

Father patted his back affectionately and said, “You must be hungry, come sit.”

Father glanced at Kinaaz and said, “Altan you are getting more audacious day by day, did you get married without informing us?”

Altan rolled his eyes at Kinaaz, she got up and greeted Father.

Altan said, “I don’t want to be alone at my wedding, I have been alone since my grandfather’s death.”

Father answered with sorrow, “That is why I didn’t want you to be involved in this affair, I saw my father’s wound and suffering.”

Altan said, “Father I admired my grandfather and he always taught me that the Sun clan protects the homeland.”

Mother intervened, “Enough, I don’t want to hear anything regarding this topic.”

Father nodded then looking at his sun talisman he said, “Altan, we are proud of you, your grandfather must be very proud of you.”

Photo by Lance Reis on Unsplash

Kinaaz thought his father was serious and tough, yet he was soft and caring.

Father asked, “Kinaaz, I want to meet your family so we can discuss the wedding, Altan told us about your mother but could we perhaps meet your father?”

Mother asked Kinaaz, “Is it okay for you to get married here in Purushpura?”

Kinaaz was nervous. She said, “Yes, I’ll inform my papa of everything, we live in a village near the capital Taxila. I love this city, we can tie the knot here.”

She looked at Altan and smiled. This was a surprise for both Kinaaz and Altan.

Photo by Gary Yost on Unsplash

It was dusk and they sat near the lake. Altan was playing with Kinaaz’s hair.

Altan asked, “Kinaaz, I seek your opinion about the wedding, my father is determined he will not listen.”

Kinaaz laughed with satisfaction and replied, “I think it’s good to let our parents decide about some important matters.”

Appreciating the sunset Kinaaz stood and said, “Altan give me your hand.”

She slid a beautiful blue stoned ring on his finger and asked, “Altan, the Sun warrior are you ready to endure my madness, love, and clinginess for your whole life?”

Altan laughs with satisfaction and replies, “Kinaaz, I accept your true nature, you gave me a reason to live on and you brought love into my life.”

Photo by Oscar Ramirez on Unsplash

Altan fastened a golden chain around her neck and kissed her. Kinaaz was amazed to see the chain had a small pendant of the sun and it was made up of clear stones that sparkled in the light like fire.

Altan said, “I want you to be a future Sun warrior like your mother.”

Photo by Redd F on Unsplash

--

--

Asmi

Dreamy Drama 💟 wild women 🤷‍♀️ Fantasy Fondness 😶‍🌫️ Seren Spirit 🪷