Update on the Billing System

We hated it because it wasn’t the right fit for us

--

An office setting where one person is extending money towards the other, who is sitting in front of a computer, suggesting a payment or service environment.
Author’s image.

We got a new billing system in our dental clinic on 1 April 2024 called Vyapar.

Each patient was called a “party” and our treatments, “services.” We forged on regardless. We were treating patients, not servicing parties, and we didn’t care if our app thought otherwise.

My daughter, Gayatri, sounded alarm bells from computer college in New Delhi that we had rushed into the wrong app purchase and that it was going to be a nightmare to migrate all the data when we had to.

Our app didn’t account for the same person coming back for treatment. Or maybe it did.

I didn’t see the problem. Honestly? I still don’t. So what if the app didn’t recognize the people as unique!

I did. I would treat people according to each unique tooth, and no app could convince me otherwise.

One of our patients, a soft-spoken boy who is studying software, told us while paying his bill that our app was going to have trouble when he came back the next month for changing out his braces.

It sounded awfully like what Gayatri was saying. I started to feel anxious about the next few weeks of data.

--

--

Tooth Truth Roopa Vikesh
Tech and Me, Loving It or Hating It

I don’t just create smiles, I inspire them! Dentist, mom—Jamshedpur, India.