Is Windows the Right Operating System For You?

Not for me, and here’s why

Jakub Jirak
TechLife
5 min readFeb 10, 2023

--

Jakub Jirák standing in front of the open window with MacBook Pro 14 — Image courtesy of the author (Window stock source)

Jakub Jančík came up with another challenge. This time he would like to know what it is like for me to use windows. I don’t know what to expect as I’ve been around with windows since Windows XP on my first desktop up to the current Windows 11.

I haven’t missed practically any edition in between. I’ve had the chance to try Windows 95, 98 and Windows NT. I know there was Windows 3.11 or Windows 2000, but I’ve only seen them myself. I haven’t done anything with them.

Windows first experience

My first real experience with Windows was on my personal computer, which I nicked from my Mum when I was 12. It was a major turning point in my life at the time.

For the first two years, I used the system mostly for gaming. Then I became more interested in how things worked and how to do things. That’s why it was nice when the first iPhone 2G came out. I triumphantly got it from America and gave practically almost all the money I had put aside. I didn’t regret it for a moment.

I was even one of those who modified the system in every way despite Apple’s protections… well, different times and many exploits that even kids could figure out. Back then, iTunes on Windows was especially useful. But let’s get back to the point. When that break came, I started to worry more about how things worked and on Windows, it seemed lucrative to learn Visual Basic.

I don’t know what version it was anymore, but before long, I could write pretty decent programs, which I used to help myself in the system. Then I used the system to develop websites and e-shops. I wrote my first e-shop in my first year in high school. The funny thing is that I was practically only interested in windows up to this point.

The two ways I currently have for windows

I don’t have a problem with windows, but from a personal point of view, I only use it because I have to use it. I have two reasons for this:

  • work
  • computer games

Windows as a platform for work

I am developing a proprietary application for clients on windows 10 and 11. Previously, I did development for Windows 7 as well. Yes, I wrote proprietary, which means they are only internal tools for the client, not anything that should reach the end user.

Often my work involves NDAs, so even though I’m working on interesting projects, I’m not allowed to share anything. To give you an idea, one of the projects I’ve worked on in the last few years has gone into space.

Windows as a gaming platform

This is an intrinsic part of windows due to their widespread nature. This is the system that has appealed to game developers the most. I have enjoyed games such as DOOM, DOOM Eternal, Elden Ring, and the just-released Hogwarts Legacy in the last few years.

I also love to visit the world of online gaming, and I have actively played World of Warcraft — which I would love to play again if I had someone to play it with — Diablo 3, the Battlefield series, and the Call of Duty series.

So why is Windows not for me?

Windows, as such, unfortunately, does not offer such coherence of systems as it is in the case of operating systems from Apple. In terms of functioning, it offers users many applications, including the ability to play games on a larger scale than Linux or macOS, but that’s where it starts and ends.

Yes, it is possible to use various customizations that will bring a certain level of interconnectivity with other devices on the network.

One of my favourite readers write this comment — thank you Carl St. James aka Radiohedgefund (Source)

Still, I find as time goes on that this is not interesting for developers or users, so anyone who wants a great user experience should not look at the money so much and get a basic MacBook Air with M1, which in terms of normal user or work experience will offer an experience miles away from windows.

However, if you have to use Windows for a specific application or it’s a company policy, nothing stops you from having a Mac at home for personal use. I’ll repeat myself, but I only use Windows because I have to, not because I want to.

Final summary

I have no problem with windows as such I have used it almost daily for the last 19 years. This system brings me joy and misery, often solving complex problems of how to do what or enabling some form of automation via remote administration, so my knowledge of this operating system is more than that of a user.

I also like to play games when I have the time, or in the case of Hogwarts Legacy, when I make the time. But it’s a system I use because I have to, not because I want to.

Since I’m pretty versatile in operating systems, I regularly use other operating systems, whether Linux, which I use purely for work or macOS, which I use because I want to.

I’m not one of those people who tend to be pejoratively referred to as an Apple Sheep, I don’t buy every product, and I don’t even have to have the latest and greatest products. I buy everything with discretion, and macOS provides the best comfort in a great and reliable working environment.

Final challenge

I would like to know what relationship Ondrej has with Windows that led him to choose this operating system as his home and why he never gave macOS a chance.

But I also wonder how he is with Windows Jessica. Do you use it actively, or are you completely outside the Apple ecosystem? You can conveniently read all the articles in TechLife publications.

Jakub Jirák pointing to challenge message — image courtesy of the author

I’d like to see one more response on this topic though it won’t fit into your concept of content reuse. If you can find time for this topic, Mark, I’d love to see where you stand between Windows and macOS. I knew you’ve been using macOS for a long time and were previously tied to Windows.

Do you now perceive fundamental differences that would make you, for example, somehow limited within your current productivity setup in which the interconnectedness of Apple’s systems certainly helps you?

Thank you for taking the time to read this article! If you enjoyed it, I appreciate your support through likes 👏🏻 and comments 💬. And if you want more content like this, don’t forget to follow me! Cheers 😊👌👋

Please consider direct support of my work: https://ko-fi.com/jakubjirak

--

--

Jakub Jirak
TechLife

Content creator | Cat dad | Writing about Technology, Apple, and Innovations. | Proud editor of Mac O'Clock. | Support me at https://ko-fi.com/jakubjirak