A Used and Weathered iPhone

The outcome of choosing to be caseless.

Paul Alvarez
Techuisite

--

For years now, I have not been a fan of having cases on technology. I have never been against those that want to protect their expensive gadgets. But I have always felt that I am losing some of the value the device brings when you cover it in thick plastic.

I remember when I got my very first expensive, fully-loaded laptop that my Dad offered to get for me on my birthday. I was working for him at the time at his offsite IT consulting company, where he provided tech support to local businesses. So the gift was part, my birthday present, and part, business expense, since he wanted to get me a laptop that could help my position as a Network and PC troubleshooter.

The laptop I picked out was a 2011 13-inch MacBook Air with an i7 processor, 8 GB of RAM, and 512 GB SSD. It was the most expensive laptop I had ever had and immediately felt I needed to protect it from the world it lived in. So I bought a clear Incase plastic casing for the outside of the device.

It was fine, and for the most part, I ignored it until about six months of using the MacBook Air I realized that the casing was beginning to yellow. It was scratched up pretty badly but felt that was the point; instead of the MacBook Air being scratched, the case got it.

--

--

Paul Alvarez
Techuisite

Full-time job in IT, all the time husband, and Dad to two son and two cats. I also like to write.