Piloting Your Life: In-Flight Entertainment (Times are Changing) (Dec 4, 2018)

Terri Hanson Mead
Terri Hanson Mead
Published in
2 min readDec 4, 2018

--

Welcome Back My Hopeful and Optimistic Passengers:

Joshua Henderson of Springboard has put together an amazing list of resources for female founders and female investors in his blog post, The Global Ecosystem Supporting Women Innovators and Investors. It’s the most comprehensive list I have seen and I am thrilled that he has assembled it so I don’t have to. He even added Piloting Your Life to the founder resource list.

Jessica Valenti wrote an interesting blog post called Dear Men, Feminism Needs You. I love the message that it is time for men to ‘figure out for themselves how to be a true ally to women — without creating more work for us.’ Brilliant.

Another interesting article this week was on Michelle Obama speaking at the Barclay’s Center in NY where she said “And it’s not always enough to lean in, because that shit doesn’t work all the time.” What I love about this is that I’ve been saying this since the book came out and I couldn’t get past the first 40 pages. My response has always been that if I leaned in any further, my nose would be smooshed or broken. Instead, men (and other women) need to lean out and make room at the table. Either way, this seems to be resonating with a lot of women who could never relate to Sheryl Sandberg. I felt the same with Arianna Huffington’s book. It’s easy to take time out when you have significant resources at your disposal.

Where am I going with all of this? All I am going to say is that things are shifting, times are changing, and there’s reason for hope and optimism.

In-Flight Entertainment (Jenny Kassan)

This week’s guest, Jenny Kassan, helps give hope and options to founders by working with them to define and structure financing strategies in alignment with their goals and values. As an attorney, she provides a unique perspective that her clients find invaluable. She served on the SEC Advisory Committee on Small and Emerging Companies and submitted the petition to the SEC that led to the passage of the 2012 JOBS Act. This eventually led her to join forces with Michelle Thimesch, initially as her attorney, and later as co-founder to launch CrowdFund Main Street this past summer. This is one of the alternative funding mechanisms that we may have been looking for. Enjoy!

--

--

Terri Hanson Mead
Terri Hanson Mead

Tiara wearing, champagne drinking troublemaker, making the world a better place for women. Award winning author of Piloting Your Life.