Epiphanies At Midnight On A Monday: January 2022

Monday at midnight seems the best time to make a profile on a dating app.

I also have firecrackers, though.

What this means is that I’m just now responding to an email that came 4 hours ago from a professor about being a Teaching Assistant for his class of 300 students. #AdultADHD

“How do you know?” marvels the casual observer in my minds’ eye, the one that speaks for all of you readers out there.

Because here’s what else I did upon reading said email 4 hours ago:

  • Ate some of every item I bought earlier at the grocery store, including a condiment by itself*
  • Scrolled through every r/AnimalsBeingJerks post for inspiration
  • Wondered if I would die of a stroke in the shower
  • Didn’t take a shower
  • And then realized I was being avoidant, so
  • Made a self-bargain to write one (1) sentence on my email reply at a time every 5 minutes while checking out “The Righteous Gemstones.”

Instead of the firecrackers resulting in a fire that would endanger the neighborhood and whatever nonsense I would’ve foisted on that dating app, I now have:

  • A stream of consciousness post on Medium.com for YOU
  • An email accepting the TA position
  • A feeling that I made my immediate future slightly more tangible
  • A stomachache.

Apparently, I’m not the only one with ADHD and procrastination! My department chair just sent some random “Information Security Awareness” Powerpoint that we were supposed to complete months ago.

So…all good!

*My BFF Gareth noted, “Everyone knows you don’t buy condiments.” This is a true statement, as we all discovered when I hosted a Memorial Day barbecue and had NO ketchup, mustard, mayonnaise, salad dressing, or steak sauce. It had not occurred to me to have them. I haven’t used the ones we bought since that Memorial Day of 2019.

I don’t know how else to classify the waxy-yet-gleeful tube of rainbow sprinkles I DID buy and sample 3 tablespoons of this evening.

Photo Credit: IG @WormnBirdMedia

This particular act may not indeed fall under #ADHD.

It does speak to anxiety about the start of the Spring 2022 semester. Nevertheless, I wish all students, faculty, and staff at all educational institutions — as well as your loved ones — a happy, healthy, reflective kickoff to 2022’s year of learning.

Leave the rainbow sprinkles alone.

--

--

La Flaneuse Astride
Texas A&M Freelance Writers Association

World jumper. Fender Tim Armstrong Hellcat guitar strummer. Rhythm mover. Comedy performer. Trilingual & international teacher. Tree shaker & community builder.