I Got Fired From “The Apprentice” — But I’m Proud I Tried

Lessons I learned from getting fired on live TV.

Alvin Ang
The Affirmations Of Alvin Ang

--

Alvin Ang Instagram

If you’re reading this, it means that I’ve already been fired.

The beginning of the end came when I applied to be a contestant for the latest season of “The Apprentice.” For those who don’t know, “The Apprentice” is a reality-TV series that pits sixteen contestants against one another in a string of business challenges. Needless to say, corporate skills play a huge role in one’s success on the show.

I have zero corporate experience.

Yes, yes, I have almost a decade of experience in martial arts. I am also the founder of my own little sports events company, both of which helped me out on the show, since “The Apprentice: ONE Championship Edition” is the first Apprentice in history to feature physical tasks on top of the traditional business challenges.

But The Apprentice is still The Apprentice. Corporate pitches still feature heavily on the show, and that was where I floundered.

But here’s the interesting thing.

If I had used my lack of experience as an excuse to not submit my application, I wouldn’t even be on the show in the first place. I would, instead, be watching the other contestants battle it out on the big…

--

--