Want To Become a Better Writer? Get a Full-Time Job

Having a stable income outside of writing will, paradoxically, help you focus on writing.

Alvin Ang
The Affirmations Of Alvin Ang

--

Alvin Ang Instagram

I just got a full-time job.

I know, I know. Many of you have been following me since I announced that I am taking the leap to become a full-time writer. And I gave it a good go. I tried, I really tried.

I was making 600–800 bucks on Medium every month and was well on track to my first thousand dollar month. But COVID-19 took longer to pass than expected, and to make things worse, Medium changed its algorithm on me. My income stream dried up seemingly overnight.

I hung tough for a few months, then had to bend to reality. I had no choice but to throw in the towel. I had no choice but to give up my dreams of being a successful writer and slog my soulless guts out for the rest of my life like the rest of my fellow Singaporeans.

Or so I thought.

In reality, I discovered (much to my surprise) that working a full-time job actually helped with my writing.

Here’s how.

How Much I’ve Written In The Past Month

It’s been a month since I started working as the operations and marketing guy for an…

--

--