Distracted a Thousand Times

By the sweetheart that makes me better

Carla Tugues
Ascent Publication

--

I feel the warmth of anger and guilt flowing through my heart.

Writing one story a day is my goal. I would love to write more, but I am the single mom of a teething toddler who makes me leave the keyboard every five minutes.

I am productive when she is sleeping. It has been a couple of weeks where she has been exhausted and doesn’t want (or can’t) take her naps, and it is driving me crazy. When she finally does, it is too late for me to go out and do anything.

I don’t complain, at least I can write for about an hour and a half.

Every day I get into a debate with myself between being a mother and being a woman.

The woman is the one that works to provide a future for the mother and her child, but the mother nurtures the woman and the child with love. I would not be who I am if it wasn’t for my rebel kid.

I cannot be just the woman or just the mother; I am learning to be both.

Knowing that I have to learn doesn’t make it any easier. Some days go along pretty well, but there are others, like today, that I am struggling with it. I didn’t wake up today thinking that I was going to write about my parenting…

--

--

Carla Tugues
Ascent Publication

Writer | Designer | Eco-artist | Brain lover | Sushi hater | Life is the most precious gift. Why do we wait for our deaths if we can enjoy every second we have?