Putting Free Back in Freelancing

My new take on the gig industry

Kayla Peart
Ascent Publication

--

Photo by Becca Tapert on Unsplash

You probably read the title and thought I’m crazy, right? Charge what you’re worth is like a battle cry. It’s the first thing that’s taught in any Freelance Writing 101 course. I’m not here to change the waves of a tried-and-true method — and I’m not talking about monetary values. It’s a new (more like renewed) approach to instill better trust in this revenue stream.

My past thoughts on freelancing

A couple of years ago, I wrote an article (and then another) about my early years of freelance writing. I’ll be honest, at the time, I was frustrated. Taking a look in my drafts folder, I saw a lot of half-finished pieces about my struggles with it. My mindset was stuck in get-rich-quick mode because I entered the writing game late.

I grappled with choosing another passion to follow, that being jewelry design. I won’t say I was overwhelming in love with that choice, but I wasn’t sure if I could make it as a writer. Especially when my dad told me at a young age it wasn’t a viable career.

Everywhere I looked, others succeeded where I failed. They had no problem landing clients, gaining notoriety, and building a career.

I decided to publish those pieces, despite feeling afraid. I didn’t want to…

--

--

Kayla Peart
Ascent Publication

Wandering through life and wondering about it. Storyteller & poet. Subscribe today for a bit of brightness in your inbox: https://moonflwr.substack.com/