Things I’ve Learned Making Half A Million Euros In Sales Within 5 Months (Part. 2)

Why did I stop drop-shipping?

Nick Bonnassies
Ascent Publication
Published in
4 min readOct 10, 2018

--

You may have read my article on how I made half million euros in sales in only 5 months.

It attracted a LOT of attention.

And the only question I got beside “how did you do it man?” was

“But WHY did you stop?”

On a financial scale, stopping drop shipping was nuts, let’s face it.
I mean, if done well, it is highly profitable.
How profitable? From 20 to 50% profit from your gross sales.

Imagine, today, some of my closest friends whom kept on going are now making over a million in sales, A MONTH.
I let you do the math.

If I can be really honest and without being too pretentious, I do believe I could have reached those numbers as well. I totally do.

Things is, I did not want to.

I think it is important to realize you can miss something, but not want it back.
— Paulo Coelho

To generate big numbers just to generate big numbers to me is insane.

I do not aspire to be a billionaire or at least not this way.

I aspire to do good and get rewarded for it.

Me while traveling Vietnam in 2015 with a group a kids after playing football.

Frankly, drop shipping did not match my values and did not reach my ambitions.
There are many ways to drop ship.

Though, the most common one works like this.
You abuse of naive people by offering them a cheap product you five folded and tell them you give them 50% discount because you care for them.
In the end, they just end up putting the product in a closet or in the bin and will get a new one from your next website.

No, it is definitely not what I wished for me.

Idealistically, I wish and I want to make the world better.

I am not saying I will change the world.

I am saying I might change some people and those people could change the world.

The ripple effect.

That is exactly why I decided to coach for a living.

Most people try to make a better world for our children when what they should be doing is making better children for our world.

— Carlos Slim

You may have heard money does not buy happiness.

It does contribute, but again, there are many ways to earn some.

Using people addiction to consumerism was not my mantra.
I’m not judging people who are doing so. I mean if society wants to consume, someone has to make that happen.

After all, I drop-shipped myself too.

Drop-shipping is the best boost to make money, I agree.

But I needed something more satisfying.
I love to call myself an entrepreneur, or even a risk taker.
Taking risks always pays off in life.

Now I have had my success with drop-shipping, I wanted a new challenge matching my values and ambitions.

Money will come, money will go.

But what you do once you have the money says who you are.

Tell me, who are you?

3, 2, 1… ACTION!

--

--

Nick Bonnassies
Ascent Publication

From Waiter to Winner | $750.000 sales in 6 months | Neuroscientist, Master Practitioner in NLP & Hypnotherapist designed to help people grow 🚀🚀