This Buddhist Technique Will Help You Fall Asleep in 2 Minutes

Honest advice from a recovering insomniac.

Larisa B.
Ascent Publication

--

how to fall asleep fast. vipassana meditation
Photo by Marco Xu on Unsplash

Sound machines, complete darkness in the room, not touching my phone two hours before going to bed, and earplugs. You name it, I’ve tried it. Nothing worked.

Before learning this technique, I used to sleep less than 5 hours per night. And this not only had me feeling tired, but it also annoyed the heck out of me. That’s because all I did was lay in bed until 3 in the morning, overthinking things. Ok, sometimes I would also stare at the person sleeping peacefully next to me.

It was probably a trace of love there, too. But most of the time it was pure jealousy and a strong desire to kick them out of bed. I didn’t.

Instead, I turned to my friends and family to ask them how they do it. How can they fall asleep as soon as they hit the pillow? It went something like this:

“Don’t think about anything. Just close your eyes and stop your thoughts”, they all said.

“Ok, I know that’s what I have to do but how do I do it, people?”, I asked my loved ones.

And “you just stop thinking” is all I got. Which is just as useless as that white noise machine I gave my ex-boyfriend.

--

--