Blog

Good Grief

It might not be depression, after all

Loss of Joy in daily life

Margie Pearl suggested some of the symptoms of despair and darkness I have been experiencing recently are actually symptoms of grief. Her comment has resonated and stuck with me since I read it.

I agree I am grieving. I also don’t really know what to do with this “grief.” I have melted down exactly twice since my cancer diagnosis. When I do melt down, it is an incredible thing. I melt all the way down.

The difference between grieving and depression, from what I gather and have experienced, is with depression I cannot unmelt without heavy-duty chemicals, while with grieving I unmelt almost right away.

I’m not sure I’ve unmelted to the point where I experience joy, but I am no longer in such a dark deep down well of despair. I mean, I’m actually writing and not trying to throw my laptop against the wall. So, there’s that. Yay?

Grateful for 5 or more things

I have actively been seeking a minimum of five things for which I am grateful on a daily basis. I wrote them down the other day, but haven’t gotten to today, yet.

Today I am very grateful for dishwahsers, central air…

--

--

Jonica Bradley (Am I paranoid or RU following me?)
The Bad Influence

Writer/Painter/Poet/Believes in magic/nature/prays to unicorns/goat expert/bee farmer/mental health advocate/C-PTSD/human rights advocate/coolest person ever