50/100 WORDS

Two Plus Seven Is My Number

Thrifty Word Challenge 100 #31: & 50 #52: Numbers

Marla Bishop
The Bad Influence
Published in
3 min readAug 30, 2021

--

Twenty-seven,. That’s a number that’s popped up continually in my life for as long as I can remember. I spent half my childhood living at 27 Yakubu Avenue Avenue. It’s also a multiple of 9; my birth date. There’s something magical about the number 27, it being the first composite numeral not divisible by any of its digits.

And then there’s the fact that some of the greatest musicians who ever lived died at that age: Hendrix. Morrison. Joplin. Cobain. I still remember having to pull my car over the day the news broke that Amy Winehouse had joined the 27 club in 2011.

And when I tripped and almost broke my neck on a tree root sticking out of the pavement on my road the other day, I wasn’t surprised to look up and see the closest house was no. 27. For those of us who believe in Angel numbers, twenty-seven signals the message of greater things lying in wait. Yeah, like tree roots.

Then last week, my doctors put my meds up from nineteen a day to — yep 27. That’s the new magic number of pills they think (hope) will stabilise this autoimmune condition I’ve developed and put me into remission.

We can but hope.

--

--

Marla Bishop
The Bad Influence

Londoner, philosophy graduate, journalist, relationship coach, wife & mother. MA in Novel Writing; working on 1st novel. Follow me: https://linktr.ee/Marla