The Batali Inquisition: Lidia Bastianich

The Emmy award-winning television host, cookbook author, and restaurateur would rather be sailing

Mario Batali
The Batali Inquisition

--

When is your favorite time of day?

I love the sunrise with a cup of coffee at the beach and the surf gently in the background.

Where do you sleep best?

In my own bed.

What is the best way to recharge your batteries?

I love sailing. It relaxes every bone in my body and recharges my mind. I tingle afterward.

Where do you most successfully use your energy?

Making fresh pasta, kneading it with all my might. I also love dancing.

Where do you waste the most energy?

Waiting on line to pay the cashier.

When are you most depleted?

Usually in the evening after a full day at the restaurants.

What is the last thing you ate?

A chunk of Grana Padano and some grapes.

When are you hungry?

At every meal time. I look forward to it.

What was the last thing you cooked?

Today, before I went to work, I made an assorted mushroom Guazzetto and boiled rice for dinner for my 95-year-old mom, who lives with me.

If you were a food, what would you be?

A perfectly ripe San Marzano tomato.

Lidia’s “selfie” taken the morning of June 12, in her garden checking out her fig tree

Describe the perfect meal, what and where?

On a sailboat, in the Dalmatian Archipelago, spaghettini with just harvested sea urchin, good company, and a bottle of Vespa Bianco.

What is your favorite Olympic event?

Pairs figure skating.

What was the last live performance you saw?

I Puritani, at the Met.

With which artist of all time do you most identify?

I love Sophia Loren.

Who is your favorite literary character?

Anna Karenina.

What is your favorite method of travel?

Train.

What is your favorite vacation spot?

The coast of the Mediterranean Sea.

Where would you live if you could live anywhere?

Between New York and Venice.

What is your favorite luxury?

Big pearls.

Bonus Question: What is your favorite non-Italian cuisine, and where do you like to eat it best??

Click here to see Lidia Bastianich’s answer.

--

--

Mario Batali
The Batali Inquisition

Food, like most things, is best when left to its own simple beauty.