Adopted Food Cravings

Poetry prompt: weird cravings

Rochelle Silva
The Brain is a Noodle

--

A dish of Mala xiang guo prepared by a dear friend of mine (Photograph by author)

Mala xiang guo,
Masala chai,
Nasi lemak,
Matcha,
And many more…

Strange food names,
Totally unknown to me,
Before I set foot in this strange land.

But now they make a regular appearance,
In the “cravings” section of my brain.
Along with kottu roti, watalappam, and vadei

This dish- I mean poem- was inspired by a conversation I had with a dear friend of mine. She was telling me about how she enjoyed “kottu” at a Sri Lankan restaurant in Singapore. I was overjoyed to hear it, and I mentioned how much I enjoyed the Chinese food she prepared too. It led me to think about “adopted” food cravings — the food we didn’t know back in our home countries/cities but begin to love when we move out to new places.

What cravings have you adopted? Feel free to comment on this article or this tweet I posted sometime back…

--

--

Rochelle Silva
The Brain is a Noodle

PhD grad from NTU 🇸🇬| Logophile | Artist | Coffee Lover | Sri Lankan | https://linktr.ee/rochellesilva | Buy me a ☕https://bit.ly/399XKRX