Prompt response

Intentions

Marilyn Wolf
The Brain is a Noodle
Jun 1, 2022

--

What did you do?

Photo by Vladimir Fedotov on Unsplash

You intended to come home on time.
You intended to call me and tell me you’d be late.
You intended not to dance with her.
You intended to keep your hands to yourself.
You intended to stay reasonably sober tonight.
You intended not to slap me with your words.
You intended to sleep in bed.

Yet here you are.

Late, drunk, on the couch, smelling like another woman.
Intentions are nothing.
I no longer care.

©2022, Marilyn Wolf

Written in response to this poem by Lucy:
Intentions Aren’t Everything. A poem | by Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她) | Writing101 | May, 2022 | Medium

(Just because I wrote it doesn’t mean it’s autobiographical.)

--

--

Marilyn Wolf
The Brain is a Noodle

Poet, author, wanderer, always curious. In Celebration of the Death of Faeries is her first book; she is currently editing a second.