Childhood | Memories

If I Could Travel All the Way Back to My Childhood and Take One (or Two) Photos

June Prompts, Day 29

Alan AJ
the Challenged
Published in
2 min readJun 29, 2024

--

Old bicycles mounted on the wall above cars in a motor museum.
Some of the old bicycles at the now-closed Pembrokeshire Motor Museum in 2011. Author’s photo

June 29: Alan AJ wants to know if you could go back to an earlier time in your life to photograph an object or person, what or who would it be? What does that person or thing mean to you?

Recently, I wrote about how I take too many photos before letting go of things.

Despite my massive photo library (ha! It’s not that organised!), certain key photos are missing because nobody thought to take them at the time.

One thing that comes to mind —

Who am I kidding? When do I ever limit myself to one?!

Okay. Something that comes to mind is the record player my aunt and uncle lent me in the late 1970s. I loved that thing and used it for hours every day.

The ability to play vinyl on something with decent quality made such a difference, even though most of the records were my sisters’ cast-offs.

Despite its effect on my life, I don’t have a single photo of it. Sadly, I don’t remember the make and model, either. Online image searches have failed to produce a match.

--

--

Alan AJ
the Challenged

Past and present life moments with a touch of humour. Stories about grief, love, family, nostalgia, technology, autism, ADHD, and everyday experiences.