At The Intersection of Expectations & Standards — Part 2: Impact

Ethan Seow
The Chill Philosopher
10 min readOct 14, 2019

--

In my previous article, I was explaining about how standards and expectations were different. This was attempted through the examples of how the way they manifested in actions.

If you were to observe your emotions in reaction to situations, do you feel frustrated most of the time? Do you often feel satisfied with how things turn out? Do you feel a reluctance and/or hesitation trying to create the life you desire? Does it take a lot of willpower to try to work on what you really wish to work on? These are all a result of how we’ve built our standards and expectations through our upbringing as well as thought habits through the years.

The difficulty in explaining how standards and expectations work is due to the fact that it is an emotional experience, which requires us to be aware of how we react to life emotionally.

To describe a bit more, let me use my personal experience as a bassist just recently to explain how I used to, and now formulate my standards and expectations.

Where I Am Now

--

--

Ethan Seow
The Chill Philosopher

Trainer, Speaker, Author, Musician, Ex-Medical Student. Ethan is a mental health maverick focused on helping people gain clarity about their thoughts