2 Simple Tactics for Focusing.

Ariel A. Tabaks
The Coffeelicious
2 min readJun 24, 2015

--

If you know a goal that you want to achieve, then you already know that today is the most saturated day with massive distractions everywhere. However, this day also gives opportunity to talk about focus.

Some of the best new startups teams, artists and authors wouldn’t exist if they would not put in a religious like attitude towards their craft. At the heart of this attitude is one compelling trait — laser like focus.

The actual wisdom of focusing is ridiculously oversaturated, with all sorts of platitudes that waters down the meaning of pure focus.

You know what I mean? Simply the word focus has joined the ambiguous meaning club where the words like quality, success and love has settled camp. However the reason for this is nothing bad at all. All of these words can be interpreted in different ways by millions of different kinds of people.

For me there are several building blocks that I’m using to not only strengthen the focus, but to stretch my own understanding on what to focus on. Here are two simple ones.

  1. Focusing is about self-discipline. Very simple and very hard. For example, when I go for a run I love to push myself so I can have a healthy heart rate. After the fourth km I’m sweating, catching precious air and telling myself the story to push myself. It’s the story that drive me further not my muscles. So discipline starts in my head, fueled by that voice that dictates the willpower.
  2. Focusing is about doing the right thing. I actually hear this over and over. Robin Sharma shared it this way: “Do the right thing versus the easy thing”. In the office, on one of my colleagues walls there was this simple proverb “It is more important to do the right thing than to do things right”.
    I love this last one because it is provocative. You have to constantly ask yourself, are you doing the right thing.

That’s my story for today. Thanks.

The Coffeelicious on Twitter and Facebook.

Lytham St Annes, United Kingdom

PRIOR POSTS

“Lose “likes” by sharing weak story. No. It's not the story that's weak”

(Read by 156 people)

“How to deal with critics?”

(Read by 152 people)

“5 things that defines an honest person”

(Read by 460 people)

--

--

Ariel A. Tabaks
The Coffeelicious

Expectation management, expectation positioning. Fresh ideas from a 24 year old living in UK