Am I Awake?

Comatose Podcast
The Coffeelicious
Published in
2 min readAug 27, 2015
Photo by wester on Flickr.

Am I awake?

My first thought of the day. Some days it's met with more stress than others. The next thought comes with the first few sips of my coffee.

How many things did I forget to do yesterday?

Last week's schedule is already spilling into this week's production, and there's sure to be something that I didn't finish from before that. An unread email or a message I forgot to send. We just had Stephen on and thankfully that went well. But all thoughts need to be on episode 60 now.

Who’s on the episode?

Heath Armstrong sent me something that will work nicely. Nayo has the continuation of the story he's doing. The third person is Bashir's sister isn't it? I'll be sure to ask him to make sure.

The only problem is it's too early in the US right now. Living six hours away from most of the team leads to slow communication, and before everything comes together there's an international waltz of emails, WAV files, and mp3s.

Nayo in Japan sends his audio to Bashir in New York, who then sends it to me in France. Bashir then sends me his sister's audio, and luckily Heath's audio is already waiting. Three segments! I nearly have everything, except Nizar now needs to record narration and I have to find music to go along with everything. Once the music is all picked out and Nizar sends me his audio, I can let Michael in Orlando know that everything is good to go.

Sleep… Wait half a day…

Segments are ready, I have to annoy Nizar again. He needs to record as soon as he can. At the same time I have to remind Michael that everything will be ready to be finalized soon. These last minute tensions coming off our first collaboration with The Coffeelicious make me worried how the final product will sound.

But everything comes together in the end and we have another episode released and out in public.

And then it starts again.

Am I awake?

Listen to this week's episode, Roots, Patience, and Love:

Written by John Bauer of Comatose.

Comatose is a weekly series of amusing anecdotes, insightful commentary, and pithy stories. Every week three contributors are featured in short segments. The segments, though often unrelated, are tied together using music and narration to set the scene. Relax and enjoy the ride while listening to topics as varied as love, birthdays, and reciprocity.

You can find Comatose on Facebook, Twitter, iTunes, and Stitcher.

Every week Comatose publishes a new podcast on The Coffeelicious.

Rolling Suitcase Jetlag ← Previous — Next → For Whom the Bell Never Doesn’t Toll

--

--

Comatose Podcast
The Coffeelicious

A short weekly collection of pithy stories and insightful commentary. See more at http://comapod.com.