Photo by Dennis Skley on Flickr.

Awkward Emails

Comatose Podcast
The Coffeelicious
Published in
3 min readMar 5, 2016

--

The worst part about sending an email is waiting for a response.

I always feel like I’m in middle school calling a girl for the first time when I send a new message. I’m afraid to ask what’s on my mind and I know if I call too often everything will be ruined.

I emailed Srinath Reddy last year asking him if he had any writers that would be interested in recording a segment for Comatose.

The first email I sent to The Coffeelicious.

He got back to me and told me he didn’t know much about podcasts, but he really liked what we were doing and even opened up the idea of us coming on The Coffeelicious.

After a few more emails it was clear we both liked what the other one was doing.

A meeting was set up with Stephen C. Rose and we had our first special edition interview, Rolling Suitcase Jetlag.

As the months went by we developed something of a formula. No hard rules, but rough guidelines. With the guidelines came expectations, and with expectations came pressure.

Every week, every month, every day.

Tweet this, Facebook that.

Engage in social media.

How do I even talk to people on Medium?

It can be hard to keep up and sometimes it feels like I’m screaming into the void, but at the end of the day that feeling of creating something new is unparalleled.

When it came time to awkwardly email The Coffeelicious again and ask who they could send our way, I thought I’d flip it around. I asked Akshay G if he’d be willing to be our special guest.

My email to Akshay.

He was delighted.

Now I just have to ask Srinath Reddy to record something.

Listen to the result of our meeting with Akshay G:

Written by John Bauer of Comatose.

Comatose is a weekly series of amusing anecdotes, insightful commentary, and pithy stories. Every week three contributors are featured in short segments. The segments, though often unrelated, are tied together using music and narration to set the scene. Relax and enjoy the ride while listening to topics as varied as love, birthdays, and reciprocity.

You can find Comatose on Facebook, Twitter, iTunes, and Stitcher.

What Would You Do If You Never Could Be Wrong? ← Previous — Next → We All Live And We All Die

--

--

Comatose Podcast
The Coffeelicious

A short weekly collection of pithy stories and insightful commentary. See more at http://comapod.com.