Relax and Create

Comatose Podcast
The Coffeelicious
Published in
2 min readNov 6, 2015
Image by Bashir Harrell.

I hate to whine, but I have been feeling the weight of the world on my shoulders for a few months now. I have come to the conclusion that it must be all in my head. I have lost control of my thoughts and they have taken me on a rollercoaster of negativity with enough spins and twirls to make the Tasmanian Devil dizzy. I am finding it impossible to see the beauty that is clearly in front of me. The constant pressure of school and work and my own self-imposed need to not only succeed, but to surpass my own expectations have left me feeling less than. By focusing on far off goals I have lost sight of what I need to do now.

This is not the first time I have taken such a trip, and I have learned in the past that when I get like this the best solution is to search for an outlet of creativity. A goal that I can complete that means more to me than it does to anyone else. Last week I found the perfect therapist in painting; nothing extreme, just a little watercolor to clear my thoughts.

The key is finding, no, making the time. Once that was done all I needed was the perfect place. My flat in Harlem is one of the most relaxing places I have found in New York, and is full of inspiration from all the books and pictures my flat mate and I have collected through the years. It is there I sat with my brush, pad, and paint and began to create.

Listen to this week’s episode, Myths, Love, and Dating:

Written by Bashir Harrell of Comatose.

Comatose is a weekly series of amusing anecdotes, insightful commentary, and pithy stories. Every week three contributors are featured in short segments. The segments, though often unrelated, are tied together using music and narration to set the scene. Relax and enjoy the ride while listening to topics as varied as love, birthdays, and reciprocity.

You can find Comatose on Facebook, Twitter, iTunes, and Stitcher.

How To Find A Sonnet ← Previous — Next → Know Money, Know Problems

--

--

Comatose Podcast
The Coffeelicious

A short weekly collection of pithy stories and insightful commentary. See more at http://comapod.com.